Faithfulness In Ignorance

You know the old saying “Ignorance is bliss”? Yeah, I’m living that out as we speak. Generally, I don’t like to be ignorant. I like to have information. I like having all my ducks lined up in a row and I certainly don’t like surprises. So lacking knowledge or information, of a given situation or future events, is for me a place of un-comfortability and anxiousness.

Very soon my family will start a period of ignorance. My job, that is based on a federal grant, ends in late November. #unknown. We are moving and even though we know our destination there are still plenty of #unknowns in our future. But one of the most important lessons I’ve learned over the past two years is to let go (sorry for this classic Christian cliche) and trust that God is God.

After-all, I’ve been ignorant of the future many times before and God always came through. Just last year the wife and I unexpectedly found out we were pregnant with our third child, a child we never planned on having. Guess what, she’s a complete blessing and I couldn’t imagine my life with out her. So as a family, we have had times of want and moments of excess but God was always God.

Psalm 34:8 tells us to “Taste and see that the LORD is good”. Basically, God’s got you. But what does it mean to taste?  How can you taste something if you aren’t eating? Is to taste an action or a moment of pause?  David is telling us TO taste, not acknowledge a past memory of how something tasted. So how can you know the Lord is good if you aren’t actively tasting new things? Better yet, if you’ve never placed your life in the hands of the almighty and seen his providence first hand, how do you know that the LORD is good? I don’t think it’s possible.

But there is unknown in tasting, I get that. The thought of the unknown can be followed by fear, with stress and anxiety on its heels. We are hardwired as men and husbands, when facing the unknown, to react and fix. Gotta make a plan. Gotta do something. Gotta avoid the impending disaster. Funny how in the past, when I tried to fix stuff on my own, failure always followed but when I finally understood and embraced the last part of  Psalm 34:8 “Blessed is the man that trusts in him” my life finally began to change. My circumstances didn’t immediately improve but in place of hand wringing I found bliss and peace.

So, I embrace the unknowns in my life with the anticipation of what God will do. It’s exciting and scary but I stand on my faith and the knowledge that God will always be God, regardless of the unknowns.

Leave a Reply

